ITIL® Intermediate SD Certification

Intermediate Service Design course is the basic certification in the ITIL Service Lifecycle category and is structured to showcase participants to the documentation of IT service management, architecture, processes and policies. Participants will learn to structure, implement and enhance service design in IT environments. Make them to prepare for the ITIL Expert and Master’s levels of the ITIL framework. Our course will help participants to clear the ITIL Intermediate Service Design exam in first attempt.

Key features
  • 12.5 hours of self-paced learning
  • 10 end of chapter quizzes
  • 2 sample test papers
  • Exam fee included
  • 22 PDUs offered

Course description

What are the course objectives?

The Service Design is a vital qualifications for the ITIL Service Lifecycle category of the ITIL Intermediate level. The ITIL Intermediate Service Design certification describes the participant’s knowledge on effective practices in the design of IT services, processes and other aspects of IT service management.

4CLearn’s training program for the ITIL Intermediate SD contains online and classroom training. The courseware has been approved by APMG and CSME. It includes quizzes and sample test papers.

Why is this certification in demand?

Now it is in third version, ITIL is used widely in the world of IT service management framework and is based on global effective practices in IT service management. ITIL allows organizations to:

  • Increase productivity
  • Optimize costs
  • Improve the customer experience
  • Find a common language for service management
  • Gain a competitive edge
  • Build customer trust in the organization

Our course qualifications set international touch points of quality for IT professionals across the world. By taking ITIL training, professionals are supported to come up with new ideas and techniques to enhance customer satisfaction. They learn to contribute effectively to service delivery in the organization. The importance of ITIL has increased rapidly in modern years and Service Design certification has grown as an entry necessary for a many of IT-based roles.

Certified professionals in this field are in constant requirement, there are 5000+certified professionals across the world. Certified professionals can make an estimation on job roles like Capacity Manager, Availability Manager, Service Level Manager, Business Continuity Manager and Service Portfolio Manager.

What skills will you learn?

By the end of 4CLearn’s ITIL Intermediate Service Design training, participant will be capable of:

  • Apprehend the purpose, principles and processes in service design.
  • Determine technology-related activities and considerations in service design.
  • Determine how to organize, implement and improve service design.
  • Determine challenges, critical success factors and risks.
What are the career benefits of this course?

An ITIL certification adds weight to an IT professional’s profile. Certified professionals earn more than 40% compared to their non-certified professional.

The ITIL Service Design (SD) qualification describes the IT professional’s capability to frame consistent service design practices to advance in the alignment of Information Technology with overall business and user needs. Based on recent surveys by, the minimum annual salary of the certified professionals in this field starts from $80,000 to $90,000.

Who should take this course?

The following categories of professionals should consider obtaining the ITIL Service Design qualification:

  • Chief Information Officers (CIOs)
  • Chief Technology Officers (CTOs)
  • Service Designers
  • IT Architects
  • IT Planners
  • IT Consultants
  • IT Audit Managers
  • IT Security Managers
  • This qualification is also suitable for profiles like:
  • IT SM (IT Service Management) trainers
  • Working IT professionals in a service design environment
  • ITIL Foundation certified aspirants to improve to higher levels in ITIL
  • Aspirants need depth knowledge of the ITIL Service Design stage of the ITIL Service Lifecycle

The Service Design module is the condition for the ITIL Expert and Master’s Levels in IT Service Management.

Exam & certification

How do I become ITIL Intermediate SD certified?

The ITIL Service Design exam can only be taken as part of a recognized training course. To become qualified for the ITIL Intermediate Module Service Design qualification, the following conditions should be satisfied:

  • At least 21 hours of instruction with a recognized training organization
  • ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management

Two years of experience in the field of IT is much needed. Candidates should put some time revising the syllabus. The Service Design publication to make them ready for the exam.

How frequently does exam fee change?

Exam prices are non-consistent and supervised by the certification body. In general price modifications are announced at the end of the calendar year. Participants are responsible to pay the difference amount to 4CLearn if they failed to schedule the exam and the exam price is hiked in the meantime.

What is the validity of my exam voucher?

Exam vouchers are useful for 6 months from the issued date. It can be revised per the certification body. If participants failed to schedule the exam before six months from purchase of voucher, they need to buy the voucher again per the actual price.

How will I take the exam?

Customers outside India are provided with web-based exam vouchers will be scheduled, and for India customers, they have only paper-based exam will be scheduled. Customers are suggested to scheduled the exam before the expiry of course validity.


1. Where and how can I access the e-learning content? Are there any limitations?

Participants will get registered for a course by paying the course fee, they will have regular access to the e-learning content on our website. A confirmation email regarding course purchase will be automated to direct participants through the process.

2. Who are the instructors and how are they selected?

Our trainers are qualified with ITIL certification and have 15 years of experience in working and training in the IT domain. Every trainer must come across strict selection that contains profile screening, technical evaluation and a training demo will be conducted before they get certified to work for us. Our trainers are high alumni rated remain as our faculty.

3. Till when can I purchase exam voucher from 4CLearn?

Participant’s exam voucher is included in the price of this course. Participants schedule their exam before six months from the course purchased date. In case of any modifications about exam fee from the certification body before the six months, participants will be responsible to pay the difference amount to 4CLearn. If participants failed to schedule the exam before six months from purchase, they need to purchase the voucher again as per the scheduled price.